67 new Fellows inducted in the City of Churches

The Playford Hotel in Adelaide, was host to what is probably one of the most successful induction ceremonies that the Academy has witnessed. Friday 3rd May marked the day where 160 Fellows, friends and guests attended the always-bracingly early breakfast induction ceremony for Region VIII of the PFA.

International President, Dr Cheri Newman, and CEO, Ms Loralie Lowder, joined Past Presidents, Drs Mark Sinclair and Rick Sawers, in welcoming over 60 seriously-impressive colleagues to Fellowship.

New Fellows of Pierre Fauchard Academy

Inducted in Adelaide were:

Mark D Bowman

Paul A Brunton

Jo-Anne Cherry

Dymphna J Cudmore

David J Curnow

Bob Cvetkovic

Nadia A Dobromilsky

Daniel S Farmer

Georges M Fast

Ashley D Freeman

Simon R Freezer

Mark N Galaz

William N Ha

Anne Harrison

Matthew S Hopcraft

Zheng Jay Hsing

Farid Kahn

Geoff M Knight

Rohan Krishnan

Harleen Kumar

Kenneth Lee

Trudy YH Lin

Kavita P Lobo

Steve C Mason

John M McIntyre AM

Elizabeth Anne Milford

Koe Ean Ong

Eleanore Owen

Evangelos V Papageorgiou

Eleanor J Parker

Alan R Reid

Michael J Rutherford

Gitika Sanghvi

Christopher R Sanzaro

Rob Shea

Warren Shnider

Axel Spahr

Gautam Sridhar

Suma Sukumar

Antonia P Surace

Monica E Thomson

Joshua S Tirrell

Erika Vinczer

Peter Waltham

Martin ES Webb

Judith Werner

Valerie Woodford

Benlee Yap

Keng Soon Yeoh

To view Inductee full bios, download a copy of the Breakfast Booklet here: 2019 Induction Breakfast Booklet

Inducted in absentia were:

Christopher Barker, Stephen Cottrell, Ivan Darby, Prashanth Dhanpal, Christopher Evans, Tom Januay, Russell Lain, Som-Ling Leung, Darryl Mercieca, Angie Nillson, and Jacinta Vu.


Dr Patrick Meaney.

Following the induction ceremony, PFA President Dr Patrick Meaney, thanked Fellows and guests for attending a very successful breakfast.






PFA Foundation Student Scholarships

Siong Sheng Eng and Chris Pazios.

The PFA is committed to recognizing leaders and supporting leadership development. To this end, the PFA Foundation provides student scholarships to each of the dental schools in Australia, New Zealand and Fiji. The recipient from the University of Adelaide Dental School, Mr Siong Sheng Eng, received his award from Dr Chris Pazios, Section Head.







Emerging Lecturer’s Competition

The PFA, in conjunction with the ADA, provides support for the Emerging Lecturer competition. The Academy would like to thank Dr Alan Broughton, for ensuring that our talented new colleagues had the opportunity to be part of the main Congress schedule. Once again, the standard was extremely high and the PFA thanks the judging panel comprising Drs Karin Alexander, Cheri Newman, Stephen Liew and Deb Cockrell.  Drs Suman Bellur, Linda Gu, Shahrukh Khan, Jilen Patel and Emilija Ports were in contention and, after much deliberation, Jilen was awarded the 2019 Emerging Lecturer (with Dr Linda Gu receiving the encouragement award).

As readers may know, the Pierre Fauchard Academy (PFA) is an honorary dental association that was established in 1936. Fellowship of any of the 120 plus Sections of PFA is by invitation. Existing Fellows can nominate colleagues to any of the Section Heads; please contact Drs Susan Wise (Vic/Tas), Dr Greg Gee (WA), Dr Chris Pazios (SA/NT), Dr Andrew Thomson (Qld) or Dr Deb Cockrell (NSW/ACT) for further details.

Region VIII President and Section Heads.