The Pierre Fauchard Academy is an honorary dental service organization that was founded in 1936 by Dr. Elmer S. Best, a Minnesota dentist. Troubled by the proprietary nature of many dental publications, he wanted to help the profession gain control of its own literature and assure its independence from commercial interests. His passionate concern for the search for knowledge and the raising of professional standards laid the ground work for the beginning of the Academy.  This attracted outstanding dental researchers and teachers to its ranks, and led to a continuing role in fostering dental science.

The Academy is named after Pierre Fauchard of France (1678-1761), who is recognized as the “Father of Modern Dentistry” for raising dentistry to a profession. He wrote a book named “Le Chirurgien Dentiste au Traite des Dents” which was the first true textbook of dentistry.

 The Constitution of the Pierre Fauchard Academy laid out a series of objectives honoring Dr. Best’s focus on integrity and ethics.  An objective adopted by the Academy awards distinguished members and role models for their contributions to the field of dentistry.  A primary objective at the time of its founding, to help the profession take control over its own literature, still remains an important activity of the Academy.  This includes the publication of  Dental Abstracts


Our mission as Fellows in the Pierre Fauchard Academy is to consistently focus on professionalism, integrity, and ethics worldwide, by our own conduct as worthy role models, by the advancement of dentistry to the highest level, by supporting and honoring colleagues for their distinguished work, research, contributions, and public service, and by providing excellence in programs, education, and leadership in oral health care.

Fellowship in the Academy is by nomination and is designed to honor past accomplishments in field of dentistry and encourage future productivity.  Professional leaders select fellows based on contributions to dental literature, service to the profession of dentistry, and service to the general community, thereby bringing credit to dentistry, are among the criteria sought in recruiting new members. The Academy has its own publication program with Dental World and Dental Abstracts, and has always encouraged its fellow members to contribute to dental education and dental literature.  Through its Foundation, it offers financial support to various dental projects that increase access to care for underserved populations and scholarships to dental students.


The Pierre Fauchard Academy is currently comprised of over 8,000 Fellows divided into 120 sections, 55 in the United States and another 65 in many other parts of the world, including South America, Europe, Asia, and Australia.

The membership is made of dentists who are among the most outstanding leaders in various fields of dentistry.  Fellowship is by invitation only and must have the approval of the Section in which the candidate resides or practices.

The Academy is administered by a Board of Trustees consisting of four Officers and ten Trustees from around the world. Section organization includes a Chairperson and such other officers or committee members as the Section may elect. The administrative office of the Academy is located in Logan, Utah, U.S.A.